CAJUNS, CREOLES, PIRATES AND PLANTERS
Your New Louisiana Ancestors Format
Volume 3, Number 25
Carte de la Louisiane: This is the map of the great territory that was Louisiana, mapped in 1732 and published in 1752. It shows early historic events such as Natchez destroyed by the French in February of 1730 and the first establishment in Louisiana at Biloxi in 1699. (From a private collection)
MEETING SCHEDULED: The next meeting of the Baton Rouge chapter of the Louisiana Archaeological Society will be August 31st at 7 p.m. at the Bluebonnet Branch of the EBR Public Library. The guest speaker will be Stephanie Perrault, who will discuss archaeological investigations of the Becnel/Perez Mounds site – the evolution of a Coastal Coles Creek Period Mound Site.
The Becnel/Perez Mound site was recorded during a Phase I cultural resources survey of proposed hurricane levee alignments for the New Orleans District, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers. Additional testing at the site determined that it was eligible for inclusion in the NRHP. Data gathered during these investigations allowed for the examination of intra site evolution and comparisons with other Coles Creek mounds located in Coastal Louisiana
Perrault has over 20 years of cultural resource management experience in the southeastern United States including the states of Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, and Texas. She has conducted investigations at both prehistoric and historic sites, and she has supervised Phase I/II/III and monitoring studies. Currently she works at URS Corporation.
Rob Mann is president of the BRLAS and has been working with the local group on archaeological digs in Ascension Parish and documenting early Galveztown near the Livingston Parish line. In 1778, Spain recruited settlers from the Canary Islands to help defend against the advancing English (L’Anglais). Called ‘Islenos,’ they founded two settlements near L'Ascension, ‘Villa de Galvez’ and ‘Villa de Valanzuela.’ English economic penetration was feared, and despite attempts to prevent it, at L'Ascension, Baton Rouge and New Orleans they became established.
This should be an interesting meeting, and the public is invited.
EXCELLENT RESEARCH SOURCE: The Original Letters of Robert R. Livingston, 1801-1803 is another of the publications from Claitor’s Publishing Division, originally published by Provincial Press, edited by Edward Alexander Parsons of the Louisiana Historical Society, and one of the many books from Winston De Ville.
These letters were written during Livingston’s negotiations of the Louisiana Purchase, but the history of this period is what makes it even more important. The book is divided into five sections: the Mississippi Question; the Diplomacy of the Purchase; Napoleon; Livingston in Paris; and the Letters. The account of the negotiations with Napoleon is fascinating.
The letters are unique from the standpoint of historical material as well as curious in being entirely written in Livingston’s own hand. There are thirty-two letters addressed to Rufus King, one to M. Talleyrand, and one, not in the original collection, to a Mr. Watson.
The price of this new Claitor’s Publication is $30.00 .
CEMETERY SECURITY: Save Our Cemeteries and the Archdiocese of New Orleans will now be providing security every Sunday from 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. for interested historians, genealogists, cemetery buffs, and family members to visit St. Louis Cemetery No. 2, bounded by Claiborne, Robertson, St. Louis, and Iberville streets.
St. Louis Cemetery No. 2 contains one of the finest collections of antebellum mortuary art in the South and is the final resting place for significant jazz musicians, local war heroes, and even a notorious pirate. There is much to see, and this is a rare opportunity to come out on Sundays and visit one of the most historically and architecturally rich treasures in the city.
The cemetery is on the National Register of Historic Places and was listed on the 2010 World Monument Funds “Watch List” of most endangered cultural sites because the site is threatened by neglect, vandalism, theft, and natural disasters. Save our Cemeteries is in the process of restoring ironwork on abandoned tombs in St. Louis Cemetery No. 2 and is planning a special tour of the cemetery on All Saints Day, Tuesday, November 1, 2011.
For more information on this, visit www.saveourcemeteries.org or contact 504-525-3377.
FREE SERVICE: Correspondence to this column should be directed to Damon Veach, Cajuns, Creoles, Pirates and Planters, 709 Bungalow Lane, Baton Rouge, LA 70802-5337. The e-mail address is firstname.lastname@example.org. Queries and book reviews are printed as space permits, and you are encouraged to take advantage of this free service. Claitor’s Publishing can serve as a distributor for self-published genealogy titles. Go to their homepage for details on how you can obtain this excellent service.
HOME | GPO TITLES | CLAITOR'S TITLES | LAW BOOKS | CD-ROMS | SPECIALS
CONTACT US | WHAT'S NEW | DOWNLOADS | WEB LINKS
webmaster: Anthony Cassard